Comparison · AI agents on social media

Social media MCP servers compared: Sprout, Buffer, Metricool, Hootsuite, Zernio, Postiz, PlugKit

By Antoine Blanco··8 min read

Seven social media tools now ship an MCP server, and they are not the same product. Buffer, Metricool, Zernio, Postiz and PlugKit let an agent publish. Sprout Social and Hootsuite mostly let it read. Only Zernio and PlugKit expose the inbox, comments and DMs as tools. I checked every vendor page on September 4, 2026, and this is what each one gives your agent.

The comparison table

Prices are the entry point in USD, taken from each vendor's own pricing page on September 4, 2026. "Publish" means the agent can create and schedule a post. "Inbox" means it can read conversations and send a reply.

Tool Official MCP Endpoint Publish Analytics Comments / DMs Entry price
PlugKit Yes, 77 tools https://api.plugkit.co/mcp Yes Yes Yes $29 a month, 5 accounts
Zernio Yes, 496 tools https://mcp.zernio.com/mcp Yes Yes Yes 2 accounts at no cost, then $6 per account
Postiz Yes, 11 tools https://mcp.postiz.com/mcp Yes Posts list only No $29 a month, 5 channels
Buffer Yes, in-app connect Settings, then Integrations Yes Insights No Free plan, 3 channels
Metricool Yes https://ai.metricool.com/mcp Yes Yes No Free plan, 1 brand
Hootsuite Yes, 3 connectors OAuth connectors, no public URL Perch connector Yes Nest inbox connector $99 per user a month
Sprout Social Yes, remote server Not published Not stated Yes Not stated $79 per seat a month

The spread on price runs from a Free plan to $399 a seat. The spread on capability matters more: a server with eleven tools and a server with 496 tools are different animals even when both say "MCP".

Sprout Social MCP: read your data, not run your account

Sprout announced its remote MCP server on November 18, 2025, alongside its Trellis agent. The wording is precise: "By deploying a remote Model Context Protocol (MCP) server, customers can now embed social data directly into day-to-day AI workflows." The examples are all analysis: campaign performance, top-performing content, recommendations, no manual exports.

Publishing and inbox actions through MCP are not claimed anywhere I could find on their site on September 4, 2026. Sprout plans start at $79 per seat a month for Essentials with 5 social profiles, and reach $399 per seat for Advanced.

The servers named sprout-social-mcp on PyPI and GitHub are community wrappers around the Sprout public API. Nobody at Sprout maintains them, and they need your Sprout API credentials.

Buffer MCP: the easiest one to connect

Buffer's MCP page is the most beginner-friendly of the lot. You connect from Settings, then Integrations, with no config file: "No code required (promise!)". It supports Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Raycast, Perplexity, Notion, Zapier, n8n, Manus and Antigravity.

What the agent gets: "Create posts, schedule posts, manage your queue, save ideas, and check your connected channels and upcoming content." That is the publishing half of a social account, done well. No comments, no DMs.

The pricing is the reason it deserves a look: "MCP access is available on every Buffer plan, even Free." Buffer's Free plan carries 3 channels, Essentials is $5 per channel a month and Team $10 per channel.

Metricool MCP: analytics-first, scheduling included

Metricool runs an official server at https://ai.metricool.com/mcp, connectable from Claude Code, Claude Desktop, Cursor, ChatGPT, Mistral Le Chat, Make and n8n. Its help page says the agent can "read and act on your Metricool data, such as posts, analytics, or advertising campaigns", schedule posts (including best-time publishing), edit a scheduled post with update_schedule_post and switch brands with get_brands.

Two things to know. "MCP works with any Metricool plan, including Free", but "your Metricool plan limits still apply after you connect", and the Free plan manages 1 brand. Paid plans start at $20 a month for 5 brands and climb to $159 for 50. And there is no reply capability: Metricool's MCP is for reporting and scheduling, not for conversation.

Hootsuite MCP: three connectors, enterprise pricing

Hootsuite shipped MCP connectors on June 24, 2026 with its Wisdom agent, split across three products: Perch for publishing and analytics, Nest for the social inbox, Lumen for listening. The press release describes traffic both ways: agents reach Hootsuite data, and external tools feed into Wisdom.

It is the only vendor here that exposes listening through MCP, which is genuinely useful if you monitor a brand. The catch is the entry ticket: Standard is $99 per user a month for 10 social accounts, Professional $199, Advanced $399, all billed annually. The press release does not say which plans include the connectors, so check with sales before you plan around it.

Postiz MCP: eleven tools, self-hostable

Postiz is the open-source option. Its hosted server sits at https://mcp.postiz.com/mcp, and the MCP docs list 11 tools: integrationList, groupList, integrationSchema, triggerTool, schedulePostTool, postsListTool, postSettingsTool, generateImageTool, generateVideoOptions, videoFunctionTool, generateVideoTool. Auth is a bearer token or the API key in the URL.

The media generation tools are a real differentiator: no other server in this list generates an image or a video for the post. The gap is on the other side, and Postiz states it plainly in its FAQ: comment reading and replies are not available through MCP.

If you self-host, the server rides along with the backend at /mcp, /mcp/:apiKey and /mcp-oauth, and your reverse proxy has to forward chunked streaming to those paths. Hosted plans are $29 a month for 5 channels, $39 for 10, $49 for 30 and $99 for 100. More on the trade-off in our Postiz alternative page.

Zernio MCP: 496 tools, and the context problem that comes with them

Zernio exposes every API endpoint as a tool: "496 tools covering every API endpoint (20 hand-crafted core tools plus one auto-generated tool per endpoint)". Because no model can hold 496 tool definitions in context, "a ~50-tool core stays always visible and the rest are discovered on demand via search_tools".

That is the most complete surface here, and the discovery pattern is the honest answer to the context problem. It also means an extra round trip whenever your agent needs something outside the core, and a lot of surface to reason about. Auth is OAuth or a bearer key, at https://mcp.zernio.com/mcp.

Pricing is per connected account: the first 2 at no cost, $6 a month each for accounts 3 to 10, $3 for 11 to 100, $1 above that, graduated. Twenty accounts land at $78 a month. That per-account model is cheaper than PlugKit under about 25 accounts and dearer above it, which is the whole point of our PlugKit vs Zernio comparison.

PlugKit MCP: 77 tools, publish plus inbox plus automations

Ours, so read this one with the appropriate suspicion. The server is at https://api.plugkit.co/mcp, Streamable HTTP and stateless: "There is nothing to install and nothing to run locally". One command in Claude Code:

claude mcp add -t http plugkit https://api.plugkit.co/mcp

The MCP docs group the 77 tools into publish, inbox (Instagram, WhatsApp, Telegram), comments, analytics, campaigns and ads, and connections. Auth is OAuth 2.1 with PKCE and two scopes, mcp:read for reporting and mcp:write for publishing and messaging, or a bearer API key with full access. The scope split is worth using: give a new agent read access for a week before you let it write.

Price: $29 a month for 5 connected accounts on Creator, or $97 a month for 30 on Pro with extra accounts at $3. X API calls are passed through at X's own rate, $0.005 a read and $0.015 a publish.

Where PlugKit loses: no listening (Hootsuite has it), no media generation (Postiz has it), and Buffer is easier to connect for someone who has never opened a config file.

How to choose in one minute

If you are wiring this into an always-on agent rather than a chat window, the setup matters as much as the tool list: see connecting Hermes Agent to Instagram, LinkedIn and X for the full sequence, and how to give an AI agent social media access for the API layer underneath. If you are hitting platform limits rather than tool limits, the rate limit table is the page you want.

FAQ

Does Sprout Social have an MCP server?

Yes. Sprout announced a remote MCP server on November 18, 2025 with its Trellis agent, aimed at bringing social data into AI workflows: campaign analysis, top content, recommendations. Publishing and inbox actions through MCP are not documented on their site as of September 4, 2026, and Sprout plans start at $79 per seat a month.

Is the Buffer MCP server free?

MCP access is included on every Buffer plan, including the Free plan, which carries 3 channels. You pay for channels, not for MCP: $5 per channel a month on Essentials, $10 on Team. The agent can create and schedule posts and inspect your queue, but not read comments or DMs.

Which social media MCP server can reply to DMs?

On September 4, 2026: Zernio, PlugKit, and Hootsuite through its Nest inbox connector. Postiz states that comment reading and replies are not available through MCP, Buffer's tool list stops at publishing and queue management, and Metricool's covers analytics, scheduling and ads.

How many tools should a social media MCP server have?

Fewer than you think. A model has to hold every tool definition in context, so 496 tools cost tokens and attention on every turn, which is why Zernio keeps a core of about 50 visible and hides the rest behind search_tools. Between 10 and 100 well-named tools is the range that works in practice.

Can I use these MCP servers with something other than Claude?

Yes, MCP is a protocol, not a Claude feature. Between them these vendors list ChatGPT, Cursor, VS Code, Windsurf, Codex, Raycast, Perplexity, Notion, Make, n8n and Zapier. A server that speaks Streamable HTTP with OAuth or a bearer header works with any compliant client, including a self-hosted agent.

AB
Antoine BlancoFounder of PlugKit. Runs his own Instagram, YouTube and X accounts through the API and MCP server described here.

One plug for every platform your agent touches

$29 a month for 5 connected accounts, cancel anytime. Every feature in every plan.

Get your API key →
English ▾