Comparison · Instagram automation, DMs and comment-to-DM

Sprout Social alternatives: 8 tools that cost less per seat

By Antoine Blanco··8 min read

Sprout Social bills per seat, from $79 to $399 a month per person on annual billing, read on October 23, 2026. That is what makes teams leave. The eight tools below are sorted by what they meter instead: profiles, brands, social sets, channels, or nothing at all.

The billing unit, not the feature list, is what decides your invoice. Two tools with the same features can differ by 9x for the same team, because one counts people and the other counts accounts.

What Sprout Social costs today

From the Sprout Social pricing page, read on October 23, 2026.

Plan Price per seat, per month Social profiles
Essentials $79 annual, $99 monthly 5
Standard $199 annual 5
Professional $299 annual unlimited
Advanced $399 annual unlimited
Enterprise custom not stated

Only Essentials prints a monthly rate. The trial is 30 days with no card. The grid is coherent for a marketing department of one or two people with budget. It stops being coherent the moment a third person needs to log in, because the price multiplies while the profile count does not.

The full breakdown of what each tier adds is in Sprout Social pricing. This page is about leaving.

The eight alternatives, by billing unit

Every price below was read on the vendor's own pricing page on October 23, 2026. I grouped them by meter because that is the actual choice you make.

Per seat, but cheaper: Hootsuite

Hootsuite is the like-for-like swap: same shape, lower entry. Its FAQ gives Standard from $99, Professional from $199 and Advanced up to $399 a month, with 10 social accounts on Standard and unlimited above it. The per-seat rates are not printed in the plan cards, only in the FAQ, so treat them as starting points. Trial is 14 days, no card.

Who it is for: a team that genuinely needs listening and an inbox, and wants Sprout's Standard tier at roughly half the entry price.

Per profile: Vista Social, Agorapulse, SocialBee

These three charge for what you connect, and let several people in on the same plan.

Tool Entry price per month Profiles Users Extra profile
Vista Social Professional $99 ($950/year) 15 2 not priced on page
Agorapulse Standard $99 ($79 annual) 10 not stated $15
SocialBee Bootstrap $29 ($24 annual) 5 1 $15 per 5

Vista Social is the one that looks most like Sprout for a fraction of the seat cost: Advanced at $199 a month carries 30 profiles and 3 users, where Sprout's $199 buys one seat and 5 profiles. Its add-ons are billed separately, including Listening at $75 a month and the X integration at $29 a month. Trial is 14 days, no card. Full grid in Vista Social pricing.

Agorapulse is the inbox-first option, with a 30 day trial and no card. Its catch is in the moderation rules: automated moderation is limited to one rule per profile with one trigger condition on every published tier, and only the Custom plan removes that. The extra-profile price renders as two overlapping figures on the page, $10 and $15, so budget the higher one.

SocialBee is the cheapest honest entry in the group. Pro at $99 a month covers 25 profiles, 3 users and 5 workspaces, which is the same money as one Sprout Essentials seat with 5 profiles. Extra profiles come in sets of 5 at $15 a month, extra users at $10.

Per brand: Metricool

Metricool counts brands, not profiles or people. Starter reads from $25 a month billed monthly, from $20 billed annually, with brand tiers printed on the page: 5 brands at $25 a month, 10 brands at $45. Advanced starts at $67 a month and runs to $210 for 50 brands. There is a $0 option for 1 brand, and no trial on the paid tiers. Seat counts are not published anywhere on the page, which is the thing to verify before you commit an agency to it. Detail in Metricool pricing.

Per social set: Later

Later bills per social set, where a set is one profile per supported platform, 8 profiles in total. Starter is $18.75 a month on annual billing for 1 set, 1 user and up to 30 posts per profile. Growth is $37.50 for 2 sets and 2 users, Scale $82.50 for 6 sets and 4 users. Extra sets are $11.25, extra users $3.75. Cheap if your accounts come one per platform, expensive if you run six Instagram accounts and nothing else. See Later pricing.

Per channel: Buffer

Buffer is $5 a month per channel on Essentials and $10 per channel on Team, which is the only plan with unlimited team members. Channels past the tenth cost less per channel, though the page gives no figure for that discount. There is a no-cost option capped at 3 channels and 10 scheduled posts per channel. Ten channels on Team is $100 a month for any number of people, against $897 for the Sprout tier that covers 10 profiles and 3 seats.

Flat, with accounts bundled: Loomly

Loomly prints two tiers and bundles both accounts and users. Starter is $65 a month, or $49 a month billed yearly, for 12 social accounts and 3 users. Beyond is $332 a month, or $249 yearly, for 60 accounts and unlimited users. The gap between them is the widest in this list, with nothing in between. Full grid in Loomly pricing.

Per connected account, API first: PlugKit

PlugKit is not a replacement for Sprout's calendar, and I will not pretend it is. There is no visual planner, no approval workflow, no listening. It is a REST API and a hosted MCP server: your code or your AI agent publishes, reads comments and DMs, and pulls analytics. $49 a month covers 5 connected accounts, cancel anytime. The Pro tier is $97 a month for 30 accounts, with extra accounts from $3. Seats are not a billing unit at all, because there is no interface to seat anyone in.

Pick it when the publishing is automated and nobody needs to drag a post around a calendar. Pick one of the eight above when a human runs the account day to day.

The same job, priced on each tool

One scenario: 3 users, 10 social profiles, monthly billing where published. Prices read October 23, 2026.

Tool Plan needed Monthly cost What forces that tier
Sprout Social Professional $897 3 seats at $299, 10 profiles needs unlimited
Hootsuite Standard, 3 seats from $297 per seat, 10 accounts included
Buffer Team, 10 channels $100 $10 per channel, users unlimited
Vista Social Advanced $199 30 profiles, 3 users
Agorapulse Standard $99 10 profiles, seat count unpublished
SocialBee Pro $99 25 profiles, 3 users
Metricool Advanced from $67 15 brands, seat count unpublished
Later Growth plus 1 user $41.25 16 profiles, 2 users plus $3.75
Loomly Starter $65 12 accounts, 3 users
PlugKit Creator $49 a month for 5 connected accounts 10 accounts needs the $97 tier

Two honest caveats on that table. Hootsuite and Sprout do publish listening, review management and approval workflows that the cheap end of this list does not, so a $99 tool is not a $897 tool with the price crossed out. And the four tools whose pages omit a seat count (Agorapulse, Metricool, and the extra-user price on Vista Social and Metricool) can move once you ask sales.

What to check before you switch

If you are weighing a tool against writing against the platform APIs yourself, the trade-offs are in the social media API guide.

FAQ

What is the best Sprout Social alternative?

It depends on what Sprout is overcharging you for. If it is seats, Vista Social at $199 a month for 30 profiles and 3 users or SocialBee at $99 for 25 profiles and 3 users are the direct answers. If you want the same product shape at a lower entry price, Hootsuite starts at $99 a month. If publishing is automated, an API is cheaper than any of them.

Is there a cheaper alternative to Sprout Social for agencies?

Yes, as long as the agency bills by client rather than by person. Metricool's Advanced tier runs from $67 a month and scales to 50 brands at $210. SocialBee's Pro50 is $179 a month for 50 profiles and 10 workspaces. Both are under one Sprout Professional seat at $299.

Why is Sprout Social so expensive?

Because every person who logs in is a separate line on the invoice, and the tiers that lift the 5 profile cap start at $299 per seat per month. The listening, review management and approval features are genuinely there, but you pay for them per head whether each head uses them or not.

Can I move my Sprout Social data to another tool?

Not automatically. Export your reports from Sprout before you cancel, then reconnect each social account in the new tool through its own OAuth flow and rebuild anything still scheduled. Plan a week of overlap on both subscriptions so nothing goes unpublished.

AB
Antoine BlancoFounder of PlugKit. Runs his own Instagram, YouTube and X accounts through the API and MCP server described here.

One plug for every platform your agent touches

$49 a month for 5 connected accounts, cancel anytime. Every feature in every plan.

Get your API key →
English ▾